AJS-Q ’s Dr Fujiko Chamberlain (OAM) Education Award – 2022

On behalf of the Committee of the Australia Japan Society – Queensland I would like to congratulate Ms Ciara Heslin from Griffith University and Ms  Lorelai Gowlland from the University of Queensland on receiving the Dr Fujiko Chamberlain (OAM) Education Award for achievement in Japanese language studies in 2022. Both recipients have each been awarded $100, a certificate and a one year student membership of the Society.

The Society established this award in 2017 to commemorate Dr Chamberlain’s dedication to education, Japanese language studies and Australia Japan relations in Queensland. Dr Chamberlain encouraged and inspired generations of students throughout her career, particularly during her time as a lecturer at the University of Queensland. She was also a longstanding Committee Member and Life Member of the AJS-Q. More information about the Award together with an outline of Dr Chamberlain’s life and career is included in the Awards Section of the AJSQ website here.

David Shield

Ms  Lorelai Gowlland from the University of Queensland

Ms Ciara Heslin from Griffith University

Scroll to Top